While some users prefer to use the same email address throughout their life, however, some users keep on closing and changing their email account due to varied reasons. Generally, the process with the majority of email providers is a bit easy, but when it comes to MSN email, there are certain things that a user needs to go through before he/she tries to delete their MSN email account. To know how to delete an MSN email account and things to consider before doing so, go through the information provided below.
Guide to Delete an MSN Email Account
NOTE: Microsoft moved all its email services like Live Mail, Hotmail, Office 365, Outlook.com, MSN Mail to a single service named Outlook.com. So, the below-mentioned steps are provided accordingly.
In order to permanently delete your MSN email account, you will need to terminate your Microsoft account. Closing of Microsoft account will also delete your emails and contacts permanently from their servers, and won’t be recoverable. Moreover, if you use your Microsoft account with Xbox, Skype, OneDrive, or any other Microsoft services, you will no longer be able to use those services.
- If you wish to have a fresh start, instead of closing your account, you can create a new account. This way, you will be able to have a new MSN email address, Inbox, and From address, and you won’t have to lose access to your current email and contacts.
- If you wish to use your new email address with your current MSN email account, you can add an email address to your MSN email account. This way, you will have an additional email address for the same inbox, contacts, and account settings as your primary email address.
- In case you want to have a new name associated with your account, you can simply change your profile photo or name.
Closing your Microsoft Account to Terminate MSN Email Account
- In order to close your Microsoft account permanently, you will need to go to the Account Termination page
- On the Account termination page, you will need to ensure the following on your screen before proceeding with the further steps.
- Cancel your current subscriptions.
- Cancel your current business or organizational service and remove any Azure Active Directories.
- Make sure to use your remaining account balances, including your Skype credit (if any).
- Save your health records.
- Set up automatic email replies to let senders know that you are closing your account.
- Disable reset protection for any Windows device that you have enabled.
- After considering the above-mentioned points, you can click on the Next
- Then, on the next screen, you will need to select the checkbox next to the following on your screen:
- You’ll lose access to all personal or organizational data stored by any Microsoft service and may lose access to other services using this account.
- You’ll lose access to Skype, Office 365, Xbox, OneDrive, Azure, and all other personal and organizational Microsoft subscription services, along with potentially losing any remaining account balances.
- You’ll lose access to Outlook.com, Hotmail, and OneDrive.
- You’ll lose access to all earned Microsoft certifications, passed exams, and any associated transcript.
- You’ll be unable to manage any software such as apps, games, services, or other listings created or owned by this account in various Microsoft stores across Windows, Office, Xbox, Azure, and more.
- You’ll lose access to any digital games and subscriptions you’ve purchased or acquired, including Xbox Live Gold, Xbox Game Pass, and Mixer Pro.
- You’ll be unable to install or reinstall all music, games, apps, and software purchased or downloaded using this account. You might also lose some associated functionality.
- You’ll lose access to some services on devices attached to this account.
- Your devices using Reset Protection might become unusable.
- I confirm that I understand after the 60-day recoverable period I will permanently lose access to sites, services, and data associated with this Microsoft account
- After selecting the checkbox next to the above-mention points, you will need to provide a reason for closing your account. For this, you will need to click on the “Select a reason” option. From the drop-down, select the appropriate reason for deleting your MSN account. If you don’t find a relevant reason listed, select My reason isn’t listed
- Then, you will need to click on the Mark account for the closure On the next screen, you will be notified of the exact date on which your account will be closed permanently.
NOTE: If you wish to reopen your account after marking it for closure, you can do so easily by simply signing in back to your account within 60 days. You will be prompted to prove your identity as the rightful owner of the account (using the current security information) when trying to access your account.
So, these are the steps that you will need to follow to delete an MSN email account. You can also call MSN customer service phone number to fix MSN email account.